Charles Schwab Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Charles Schwab
Shop Retirement or
Choose a Category

Client Reviews for Schwab Individual Retirement Account

Schwab Individual Retirement Account

Average Client Rating:
4.206
4.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 506 reviews
5 Stars
292
4 Stars
116
3 Stars
42
2 Stars
22
1 Star
34
4.2
(506 client reviews) 506
Customer Service: 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Investment help and guidance: 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Fees and commissions: 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Website features: 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
43850687%of clients would recommend this account to a friend.
Among clients that submitted published reviews
See important information at bottom of page
Showing 1-10 of 506 results 
1 2 3 4 5 ... 51 next>>
Review 1 for Individual Retirement Account

Easy to understand guildance and advice

Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Anonymous
Date:12/04/2012
Location: Long Island, NY
Age:35-55
Investment Experience:Experienced
Customer Service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Investment help and guidance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fees and commissions: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Website features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After having been with several full sevice and many online brokerage firms over the past 40+ years, Charles Schwab's Customer Sevice Team, easy to use web platform, and investment tools are the best of the best. Chuck is fair, honest, and can answer any question quickly. They know how to return a phone call and always follow up to see if you have any additional questions. Their account promotional bonus perks will make any level investor smile. I also love the bill payer and direct deposit features for my Schwab non retirement accounts. Less time running around transferring money for me.
Accounts Reviewed: Roth IRA, Rollover IRA
I would recommend this to a friend.
+39points
76out of 113found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Individual Retirement Account

Been there done that

Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: MemoG
Date:08/04/2012
Location: Orange County, CA
Age:Over 55
Investment Experience:Intermediate
Customer Service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Investment help and guidance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fees and commissions: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Website features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been with Schwab for over 15 years now. I've talked to all of my friends about it but never written a review.
I have had financial planners, invested through big financial houses etc.etc.
I could not be happier with Schwab. They will help you as much as you want them to. They are friendly, knowledgeable and never in a hurry to get you off the phone. And no, their call centers are not in foreign countries. Whatever i want to learn i learn from Schwab. I will be retiring in a couple of years and i look forward to making Schwab my retirement partner. I love it and don't see myself going anywhere else.
Accounts Reviewed: Custodial IRA, Rollover IRA, Traditional IRA
I would recommend this to a friend.
+45points
67out of 89found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Individual Retirement Account

Making the Most of a Single Income

Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: MoneyMatters
Date:11/12/2011
Location: Hayward, CA
Age:35-55
Investment Experience:Beginner
Customer Service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Investment help and guidance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fees and commissions: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Website features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a single mother of two, work as a secretary and yet own my own home, have savings, and have retirements accounts like my Roth IRA at Charles Schwab. My financial policy is make every penny count. I don't buy what I don't need, I buy American, and I make investments with companies that don't jerk me around with endless fees. I have been thrilled with my experience with Charles Schwab. I rolled traditional and contributory accounts over from a credit union into one Roth IRA at CS before the end of last year to be able to split the tax burden over the following two years. It wasn't a huge amount of money, but every time I called for help or advice I received personal service that made me feel like a millionaire. The CS reps I spoke with were knowledgable, helpful, friendly, and seemed excited to show me how to navigate the website to make the most of my options. I appreciate, AND SEARCH FOR, companies that still treat me like the customer. Please don't forget us little guys (and ladies), we are still out here trying to live the dream and companies like Charles Schwab help make it happen.
Accounts Reviewed: Roth IRA
I would recommend this to a friend.
+160points
179out of 198found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Individual Retirement Account

myopinions

Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: threeiras
Date:02/19/2011
Location: Portland, OR
Age:35-55
Investment Experience:Intermediate
Investment help and guidance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fees and commissions: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Website features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I started my first Regular IRA at schwab I was told there would be no acct fees. Nearly twenty years later I still have not paid any account fees. I now also have a Roth and an inheirited IRA, and my wife has a Reg IRA, and we still don't pay any maintenance fees on any of them. Pretty Cool. When I started with schwab in ninety three they would provide a newspaper-like catalog for comparing Mutual funds. I really like how they have kept up with technologies year after year, to the point now where I have wonderful reasearch tools and up to the minute access to my account information.
Accounts Reviewed: Roth IRA, Traditional IRA, Inherited IRA
I would recommend this to a friend.
+96points
108out of 120found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Individual Retirement Account

Responsive?

Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: RonC
Date:02/02/2011
Location: Georgetown, TX
Age:Over 55
Investment Experience:Intermediate
Investment help and guidance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fees and commissions: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Website features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our Traditional IRA has been with Schwab for many years and during all that time we have never had anything but the best of service and at a very good price.
The most appreciated feature is their customer service. When you reach them, and no long holds, they listen to your problem and actually response directly to the request or problem rather than come back at you with 'canned' or check list responses. I have never had to call back a second time when I had a request. I would recommend to anyone.........
Accounts Reviewed: Traditional IRA
I would recommend this to a friend.
+41points
48out of 55found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Individual Retirement Account

Tools and services to obtain goals.

Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Jimandann
Date:10/06/2013
Location: Plano, Texas
Age:Over 55
Investment Experience:Intermediate
Customer Service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Investment help and guidance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fees and commissions: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Website features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been a Schwab customer since my retirement.
I like using the website for all the information that is available there, and the ability to manage our finances. If I need anything I don't see there, I call the 800 number, and get a courteous person.
I have never been disappointed with the service received on the phone. Everyone always seems very knowledgeable, and if by chance they can't help me, they put someone on the line who can.
I like the way you are always making improvements to the website. Making it easier to use, and altogether more user friendly.
Accounts Reviewed: Rollover IRA, Traditional IRA
I would recommend this to a friend.
+11points
20out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Individual Retirement Account

Required Minimum

Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: Whimsy
Date:10/05/2013
Location: San Rafael
Age:Over 55
Investment Experience:Intermediate
Customer Service: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Investment help and guidance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fees and commissions: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Can't transfer RMD out
Accounts Reviewed: Traditional IRA
Response from Charles SchwabBy Schwab Moderator12/18/2013
We will contact you to help you with this.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-21points
18out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Individual Retirement Account

Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Anonymous
Date:10/04/2013
Location: Scarborough, Maine
Age:Over 55
Investment Experience:Experienced
Customer Service: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fees and commissions: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Website features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This customer did not provide a text review.
Accounts Reviewed: Roth IRA, Traditional IRA
I would recommend this to a friend.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Individual Retirement Account

Go elsewhere

Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by: Anonymous
Date:10/04/2013
Location: Mesa,AZ.
Age:Over 55
Investment Experience:Experienced
Customer Service: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Investment help and guidance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fees and commissions: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Website features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
customer service is bad.Been waiting a week for a check to be mailed across town.Am switching my acct. to another broker.
Accounts Reviewed: Rollover IRA
I would not recommend this to a friend.
-20points
12out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Individual Retirement Account

SUPPORT

Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: HELP
Date:10/04/2013
Location: OXNARD, CA
Age:Over 55
Investment Experience:Intermediate
Customer Service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Investment help and guidance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fees and commissions: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Website features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOCAL AND ON LINE SUPPORT HAS BEEN VERY GOOD
Accounts Reviewed: Custodial IRA
I would recommend this to a friend.
+1point
13out of 25found this review helpful.
Showing 1-10 of 506 results 
1 2 3 4 5 ... 51 next>>
Brokerage Products: Not FDIC Insured • No Bank Guarantee • May Lose Value

Information about Clients Speak™, Ratings and Reviews by Schwab clients

Ratings and reviews are submitted by clients voluntarily and are screened for acceptance in accordance with the Publishing Guidelines prior to publication. Please see the Publishing Guidelines for details regarding which reviews are published.

The average rating scores are based on published reviews for the indicated account(s) and services and do not incorporate ratings and reviews that do not satisfy the Publishing Guidelines. Ratings and reviews are added continuously and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed. During the period from 1/1/2011 to 11/13/2012, 2,844 reviews were submitted, 2,299 were accepted, and 545 were not accepted for publication in accordance with the Publishing Guidelines. Sorting of reviews by "Featured Reviews" first shows reviews selected by Charles Schwab & Co., Inc. and Schwab Bank based on subjective criteria deemed relevant at the time of selection including marketing priorities.

Ratings and opinions expressed by clients are not meant to suggest future performance or the suitability of any account type, product, or service for any particular client and may not be representative of the experience of other clients. Charles Schwab & Co., Inc. and Schwab Bank cannot guarantee the accuracy of the information included in client reviews. Ratings and Reviews are powered by Bazaarvoice, a 3rd party vendor not affiliated with Charles Schwab & Co., Inc. or Schwab Bank.

If you have additional questions or concerns about Ratings & Reviews or would like to verify its authenticity, please contact a Schwab representative at either 800-435-4000, the phone number on your statement, or by email at ratingsandreviews@schwab.com.

Options carry a high level of risk and are not suitable for all investors. Certain requirements must be met to trade options through Schwab. Please read the options disclosure document titled "Characteristics and Risks of Standardized Options."

Multiple leg options strategies will involve multiple commissions.

With long options, investors may lose 100% of funds invested. Multiple leg options strategies will involve multiple commissions. Spread trading must be done in a margin account. Covered calls provide downside protection only to the extent of the premium received and limit upside potential to the strike price plus premium received. Writing uncovered options involves potentially unlimited risk.

Supporting documentation for any claims or statistical information is available upon request.

Please contact a tax advisor for the tax implications involved in any options strategies referenced.

Schwab's StreetSmart Edge® is available for Schwab Active Trading clients. Access to NASDAQ TotalView® is provided for free to non-professional clients who have made 120 or more equity and/or options trades in the last 12 months, 30 or more equity and/or options trades in either the current or previous quarters, or maintain $1 million or more in household balances at Schwab. Schwab Active Trading clients who do not meet these requirements can subscribe to NASDAQ TotalView for a quarterly fee. Professional clients may be required to meet additional criteria before obtaining a subscription to NASDAQ TotalView. This offer may be subject to additional restrictions or fees, and may be changed at any time.

Restrictions apply: The $8.95 commission does not apply to foreign stock transactions, large block trading transactions requiring special handling, or restricted stock transactions. All broker-assisted and automated phone trades are subject to service charges. See the Charles Schwab Pricing Guide for details. Employee equity compensation transactions are subject to separate commission schedules.

(1112-7512)