Charles Schwab Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Charles Schwab
Shop Brokerage or
Choose a Category

Client Reviews for Schwab Schwab One Brokerage Account

Schwab Schwab One Brokerage Account

Average Client Rating:
4.34
4.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 818 reviews
5 Stars
499
4 Stars
197
3 Stars
57
2 Stars
31
1 Star
34
4.3
(818 client reviews) 818
Customer Service: 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Investment help and guidance: 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Fees and commissions: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Website features: 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
73181889%of clients would recommend this account to a friend.
Among clients that submitted published reviews
See important information at bottom of page
Showing 1-10 of 818 results 
1 2 3 4 5 ... 82 next>>
Review 1 for Schwab One Brokerage Account

The Best

Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Miz Lu
Date:08/08/2012
Location: Arkansas
Age:Over 55
Investment Experience:Intermediate
Customer Service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Investment help and guidance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fees and commissions: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Website features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have Roth IRAs, SEP-IRA, brokerage, and checking account. Every experience with Schwab has gone smoothly. The customer service staff is always quick to respond, friendly, and knowledgeable. The reports I can generate on our accounts, the research and recommendations at the website, easily understood and convenient. I would recommend Schwab to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+36points
71out of 106found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Schwab One Brokerage Account

Trustworthy brokerage!

Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Sam.O
Date:06/09/2012
Location: Cincinnati, oh
Age:35-55
Investment Experience:Intermediate
Customer Service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Investment help and guidance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fees and commissions: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Website features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Schwab has been trustworthy and reliable financial partner in my long engagement with them. Schwab website is the best financial info. Center for beginners and experts alike... Schwab advisors are 100% for the clients best interest and they never seem to have an ulterior motive like other brokerage houses. love it!
I would recommend this to a friend.
+43points
67out of 91found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Schwab One Brokerage Account

Appreciative

Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: Contentment
Date:06/06/2012
Location: Waipahu, HI
Age:Over 55
Investment Experience:Experienced
Customer Service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Investment help and guidance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fees and commissions: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Website features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Charles Schwab is a company that has demonstrated integrity, trustworthiness, efficiency, and genuine interest in providing support for individual investors like me who prefer to manage our own accounts. It's fees are reasonable.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+30points
48out of 66found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Schwab One Brokerage Account

Best Customer Service Experience

Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: tenyearaccount
Date:06/01/2012
Age:Over 55
Investment Experience:Intermediate
Customer Service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Investment help and guidance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fees and commissions: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Website features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Over the years, I have had a number of accounts with different firms, but I have been with Charlie for the last 10.
The reps I talk with are unfailingly knowledgeable, polite, and helpful. They make the Schwab experience work, and regardless of company or industry, they are without doubt the best people I deal with on the phone. For this alone, maintaining my account is worthwhile.
Second, although this is a highly regulated industry where all players must follow the same rules, I get the sense that for the folks running Schwab, integrity is very, very important. I can't point to specific act, or interaction, or policy, but every time I talk with someone at Schwab, I get the feeling that telling the truth, being responsible, and looking out for the customer is of paramount importance.
Schwab's fees are in line with other brokerages, the web site is very good (if not great - I liked the previous version better), but its the people, and their integrity, that make the difference.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+52points
65out of 78found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Schwab One Brokerage Account

JUST CHECKIN' IN

Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: SEA
Date:06/01/2012
Customer Service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Investment help and guidance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fees and commissions: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Website features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Schwab has been outstanding for years. Integrity. Character. They listen to your question before responding. Commissions are a tough issue, but we little guys always want them to come down more. Other than that, Schwab is the place to be.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+31points
42out of 53found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Schwab One Brokerage Account

value for selection

Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: SC investor
Date:12/05/2011
Location: greenville, sc
Age:18-34
Investment Experience:Intermediate
Customer Service: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Investment help and guidance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fees and commissions: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Website features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
charles schwab may not beat the cheapest online broker, but they offer more investment options than a typical online brokerage house. telephone customer service is great, i have an office i can walk into a block from my home and although their website is a bit clunky it offers free research from many sources AND comprehensive investment guidance.
it is easy to recommend CS to anyone looking for a variety of investment instruments at reasonable cost.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+37points
55out of 73found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Schwab One Brokerage Account

All-in-one peace of mind

Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: JCoastie
Date:11/08/2011
Location: San Jose CA
Age:35-55
Investment Experience:Experienced
Customer Service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Investment help and guidance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fees and commissions: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Website features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been with Schwab since I opened my first brokerage account after college. 20 years later I'm still with them, having churned through numerous other institutions on a trial basis, I always find myself back at Schwab. They are best-in-class in terms of consistent high quality service, responsiveness, and willingness to help beyond the one-time transaction mentality that most institutions have these days..
I would recommend this to a friend.
+47points
55out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Schwab One Brokerage Account

Haven't tried others but Schwab...

Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by: KelKan
Date:05/02/2011
Location: Brookings, South Dakota
Age:35-55
Investment Experience:Intermediate
Investment help and guidance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fees and commissions: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Website features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not tried other large on-line brokerage companies so I cannot speak about Schwab in comparison to them. I only can say that I have used Schwab for years, have never had but unbelieveably great support from them over the phone when needed that I have never wanted to look elsewhere. I also really like their on-line tools for finding funds and ETFs.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+30points
39out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Schwab One Brokerage Account

Bait and Switch

Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by: StellarInvestor
Date:09/29/2013
Location: San Mateo, CA
Age:Over 55
Investment Experience:Experienced
Customer Service: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Investment help and guidance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fees and commissions: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Website features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I met with a Schwab planner asking for very specific things: No scary projections of poor retirement, a selection of diversified mutual funds that Schwab would have access to that wouldn't cost me a a big investment, and to be heard and understood. The first meeting went well. He said he would select some funds and after a year we could compare them to my current selections.
The second meeting was a farce. First, he gave me a scary projection plan, which I told him I would not listen to. Then, he offered me to "programs", one in global investments and one in dividend stocks picked for me, both that required 100K investments.
TOTAL BAIT AND SWITCH.
I was hoping Schwab had maintained it's original focus on the small investor- Alas, they are just like all the rest. Sell what works for THEM!
Response from Charles SchwabBy Schwab Moderator12/18/2013
We're sorry you had that experience. We focus on all investors, big and small. We will have someone reach out to you to discuss this.
I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
25out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Schwab One Brokerage Account

Not always available

Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by: cantstandaNO
Date:09/29/2013
Location: Chevy Chase, MD
Age:Over 55
Investment Experience:Experienced
Customer Service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Investment help and guidance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fees and commissions: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Website features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Schwab is an all around great brokerage in all respects. Except Information Technology.
For some reason they think its OK to shut down certain customer services on Sunday morning - like at 850 AM EDT on 9/29/13, for example. Schwab is a mission critical system to some of us. "Rolling" fixes, deployments, backups, etc are done throughout industry to eliminate user/customer impact. Dont know whether this is every Sun or not, but I've experienced this several times a year. Hey, Schwab IT guys, please get with the program!
Response from Charles SchwabBy Schwab Moderator12/18/2013
We're sorry you experienced technical difficulties. We will pass this feedback along.
I would recommend this to a friend.
+5points
12out of 19found this review helpful.
Showing 1-10 of 818 results 
1 2 3 4 5 ... 82 next>>
Brokerage Products: Not FDIC Insured • No Bank Guarantee • May Lose Value

Information about Clients Speak™, Ratings and Reviews by Schwab clients

Ratings and reviews are submitted by clients voluntarily and are screened for acceptance in accordance with the Publishing Guidelines prior to publication. Please see the Publishing Guidelines for details regarding which reviews are published.

The average rating scores are based on published reviews for the indicated account(s) and services and do not incorporate ratings and reviews that do not satisfy the Publishing Guidelines. Ratings and reviews are added continuously and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed. During the period from 1/1/2011 to 11/13/2012, 2,844 reviews were submitted, 2,299 were accepted, and 545 were not accepted for publication in accordance with the Publishing Guidelines. Sorting of reviews by "Featured Reviews" first shows reviews selected by Charles Schwab & Co., Inc. and Schwab Bank based on subjective criteria deemed relevant at the time of selection including marketing priorities.

Ratings and opinions expressed by clients are not meant to suggest future performance or the suitability of any account type, product, or service for any particular client and may not be representative of the experience of other clients. Charles Schwab & Co., Inc. and Schwab Bank cannot guarantee the accuracy of the information included in client reviews. Ratings and Reviews are powered by Bazaarvoice, a 3rd party vendor not affiliated with Charles Schwab & Co., Inc. or Schwab Bank.

If you have additional questions or concerns about Ratings & Reviews or would like to verify its authenticity, please contact a Schwab representative at either 800-435-4000, the phone number on your statement, or by email at ratingsandreviews@schwab.com.

Options carry a high level of risk and are not suitable for all investors. Certain requirements must be met to trade options through Schwab. Please read the options disclosure document titled "Characteristics and Risks of Standardized Options."

Multiple leg options strategies will involve multiple commissions.

With long options, investors may lose 100% of funds invested. Multiple leg options strategies will involve multiple commissions. Spread trading must be done in a margin account. Covered calls provide downside protection only to the extent of the premium received and limit upside potential to the strike price plus premium received. Writing uncovered options involves potentially unlimited risk.

Supporting documentation for any claims or statistical information is available upon request.

Please contact a tax advisor for the tax implications involved in any options strategies referenced.

Schwab's StreetSmart Edge® is available for Schwab Active Trading clients. Access to NASDAQ TotalView® is provided for free to non-professional clients who have made 120 or more equity and/or options trades in the last 12 months, 30 or more equity and/or options trades in either the current or previous quarters, or maintain $1 million or more in household balances at Schwab. Schwab Active Trading clients who do not meet these requirements can subscribe to NASDAQ TotalView for a quarterly fee. Professional clients may be required to meet additional criteria before obtaining a subscription to NASDAQ TotalView. This offer may be subject to additional restrictions or fees, and may be changed at any time.

Restrictions apply: The $8.95 commission does not apply to foreign stock transactions, large block trading transactions requiring special handling, or restricted stock transactions. All broker-assisted and automated phone trades are subject to service charges. See the Charles Schwab Pricing Guide for details. Employee equity compensation transactions are subject to separate commission schedules.

(1112-7512)